top of page

The Sleep Debate: Friend or Foe?

People often ask me how I do it - how do I regularly get up before the sun rises and motivate myself? How do I run mile after mile relentlessly? How do I keep going?

The answer to these questions is not straightforward. And it is not the same answer every day. However, the one underlying little pinch in the ass (excuse my language) that keeps me going day after day, mile after mile, is guilt. There, I said it. I think guilt gets a bad rap. It has a negative connotation. But guilt and I, we are friends. When the alarm goes off at ungodly hours of the morning, before the sun has even awoken, the conversation in my head goes something like this: "Snooze...need.more.sleeeeep." Ten minutes later: "'Uhhh, why?' 'Because if you don't get up now you'll kick yourself later!' 'Buuut, I'm tired. But, it's dark out. But, I ran yesterday. My bed is comfy!' 'No buts!!!' 'Fine (grimace).'" I kid you not. It is not easy. But I do it. That is the most important "but" - BUT I DO it. I get up. I get dressed, and I go. The same goes for the activity itself; the guilt of not completing a workout looms and outweighs any pangs of wanting to quit. And afterward, the morning's guilt is nowhere to be found. Instead, I'm smiling, I feel accomplished, and I still have the whole day ahead of me. (Oh, and also, sassy iphone alarm clock titles help, too!)

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page