top of page

Get Lost.

Get lost.

I don't mean go away! Please, stay. Read.

What I mean by "get lost" is this: when the going gets tough, the tough get lost. If you take a different turn, find a new path, route or trail, you're likely to be more engaged. You have to pay more attention to where you're going and to your surroundings. This often takes the focus away from any discomfort that you may be experiencing, whether that is fatigue, muscle soreness, weather, or anything else. You might even discover something new that you never knew existed.

Recently, I was feeling the effects of my ultra training, the overall fatigue. On my Saturday run, I set out with the intention of running some moderate trails. I had struggled to even get out of bed that morning (See my recent post on The Sleep Debate), and when I headed out onto the trail, I knew it was going to be a grueling run. I was just plain exhausted, mentally and physically. Every move felt like slow motion. About a mile into my 12 mile run, I made a choice. I chose to divert from the trails and head out onto the flatter canal path. I needed to save my energy and my legs for tomorrow's 16 miles. I'd run on the canals before, but not for a significant distance in this part of town. So I ran. And I kept running. I preoccupied my mind with taking in my surroundings, paying careful attention to where I was going. Not surprisingly, I become less conscious of my fatigue. At mile 6, I discovered a hydroelectric plant called "Arizona Falls". I never even knew the place existed! It was the perfect opportunity to take a breather and refuel. It brightened my mood and I delighted in the discovery. I didn't even feel the last 6 miles back.

So, get lost. Try something new. Enjoy the journey.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page