top of page

That thing called Adaptation.

I want to tell you a story.

It goes something like this:

My family and I moved to Arizona when I was just under 5 years old. I was born on the east coast, so the west coast (specifically, the desert) was quite the change of scenery. When we first arrived, and in the time that I was adjusting, I was scared of EVERYTHING. All that I recall learning about the desert was how everything would prick or sting you - cactus, scorpions, etc. I was even afraid of quail. Yes, quail. They have those little things on top of their heads that look like stingers!

Anyway, the desert was different. It had different animals. It had a different climate. I didn't like it. But, when you're that age, you don't have a choice.

As an adult, you have many choices, seemingly an unlimited amount. It's what you do with those choices that count. I am no longer afraid of quail (however, I steer clear of coyotes, but that is another story entirely). I practice pretending to not be afraid of the dark. Let's face it, we all have fears. We all have hesitations, limitations that hold us back.

Then there is that thing called adaptation.

It may be questionable whether adaptation is a choice. It works in miraculous ways though. I did not learn to appreciate the desert until I moved away...and then chose to return. Now, I can run 20 miles in this "dry heat", jumping over lizards and worms and avoiding snakes (and coyotes), giggling at quail, and it's "just another day". That was not the case when I was 5, and probably wasn't even the case when I was 25. Adaptation is that thing that allows you to transition, perhaps without even realizing it. You adapt to your family and friends. You adapt to your job. You adapt to your surroundings. You adapt to your climate. And you adapt to your lifestyle. Just over the past few months, in training for my upcoming ultra, I have felt my body adapt to insane Arizona summer temperatures, my heart rate adapt to working at a higher intensity for a longer period of time (heat AND elevation), and my recovery time speed up (requiring less time to recover).

What is the logical conclusion? You can adapt to new friends and jobs. You can adapt to new surroundings. You can adapt to new climates. You can adapt to change. The body is a wondrous machine.

So, make a change. Take a walk, instead of watching TV. Pick up that heavier weight. Swim, run, bike, or hike that extra mile. Embrace it, empower yourself, and delight in the adaptation as you evolve.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page