top of page

I believe in GOALS.

I don't believe in resolutions. I believe in goals, and I believe that you can set goals at any age or time of year.

To me, resolutions are all or nothing. This is the reason that most people "fail" at achieving their New Year's Resolutions, often early in the year; either you change, or you don't. On the other hand, goals are attainable, measureable, and when needed, can be flexible.

This year I am beginning an accelerated 12-month post-baccalaureate nursing program. My daily life is about to change drastically. One of my goals is to maintain my fitness consistency, both for my health AND my sanity.

I know that there will be days when educational priorities take precedence over my workout. I have to accept that and be willing to be flexible. It does not mean that I can or will always choose school over health and wellness. Keeping my exercise routine will be an important factor in surviving this year.

I am in the middle of training for the Old Pueblo 50 mile ultra-marathon in March. It is a goal that I set for myself, and I have no intention of letting it slip away. It is attainable: I can train to run 50 miles. It is measureable: I can give the race my best effort with what I am capable of on that day. It is flexible: The courage to start is what counts.

Additionally, another fitness goal for 2015 is to maintain consistency and improve upon my cross-training. I know firsthand the benefits of cross-training to an endurance athlete. I have begun a 12-week Shift Fit Endure challenge (www.shiftfit.com), intermixing carefully curated body weight exercises to my cross-training. These exercises can be done at home, no gym required. It will hopefully be a way for me to minimize time, yet maximize results this year. So far, I am enjoying the process. Stay tuned for updates on my progress.

Every little step counts.

Go make some GOALS this year, not a resolution to "workout more" or do something "better". How are you going to workout more? Are you going to train for a race? Are you going to hire a coach or personal trainer? Try a workout partner? Make your goals attainable, measureable, albeit slightly flexible. Apply this to fitness, nutrition, work, social situations - the possibilities are endless!

Happy New Year!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page