top of page

Dam Good Run 40K Race Report


Photo Above: View of Lake Pleasant from atop Yavapai Point

It has been a jam-packed first few of months of 2016. I studied for and passed my nursing boards (hallelujah!), traveled to visit family and friends, and have since started my new journey as a nurse in Progressive Care NeuroTrauma (yikes!). There has been, and will continue to be, a lot of transition.

I had signed up for the Dam Good Run 40K on a whim a few months back. Not knowing what my schedule would be, since this is a local race, I was hopeful that I would be able to attend, but worse case scenario, I would miss the race without losing any travel commitments or costs. Fortunately, my schedule panned out just right.

Admittedly, I was probably a touch under-trained for this race, given that my focus priorities were elsewhere and I have been consistently rundown lately. Despite, I knew that I could handle the distance, and I planned to simply enjoy the day and the scenery.

The race begins at the water's edge of Lake Pleasant Regional Park, and the first portion of the course takes you along the pavement of the new Waddell Dam. Shortly thereafter, you veer off to rolling dirt singletrack. At first, you head away from the lake, but by the time you get to Two Cow Aid Station (mile 9.2), you are traversing trails right alongside the water. Fortunately, the breeze of the early morning kept the first half of the race cool.

Just past Scorpion Bay Aid Station (mile 10.8), there is a beautiful floating bridge.

Photo Above: Floating Bridge in Pipeline Cove

As you head toward Cottonwood Aid Station (mile 13.9), the terrain becomes rockier, and the rolling hills turn into steeper ascents and descents. I was happy to see my good friend and fellow Dirtbag Runner Phoenix Team member, Terry Tumminia, volunteering at this aid station. She told me that I was currently 4th female, and helped me to re-fuel before encouraging me on my way. The sun was out now and the heat was rising.

You head back out of Cottonwood Aid Station the way you came, but after only a few short miles, take a sharp left turn to head toward Yavapai Point. The singletrack here is narrow, and the views are spectacular!

Photo Above: View of Cottonwood Creek and Fisherman's Cove

The climb up to Yavapai Point is approximately 435 feet of elevation gain along narrow, singletrack switch-backs in less than a mile. My legs were fatigued, and the heat was starting to take its toll. I power-hiked this portion. The vast views of the surrounding lake from the top were a perfect excuse to stop and take a breath (and a few photos!).

Photo Above: View of Lake Pleasant from atop Yavapai Point

Photo Above: View of Lake Pleasant from atop Yavapai Point

I still felt pretty good as I descended from Yavapai Point. I could see the Pipeline trail that would take me back to the Scorpion Bay Aid Station (19.1 miles, but in actuality, it was a little over 20 miles at this point). However, the female that had been in 5th place passed me, looking strong, before we arrived back at Scorpion Bay. For some reason, I had had it in my mind that the race was only 22 miles (blonde moment). I had been optimistic to push through the last 2 miles, but was informed at Scorpion Bay that I actually had over 4 miles to go. The difference between 2 and 4 miles is measly for a distance runner, but never-the-less, I had to readjust my mental fortitude.

About a half-mile after leaving Scorpion Bay, I started to get a cramp in my calf. I don't normally cramp. I had been taking my electrolytes throughout the race, but it obviously had not been enough given the heat of the day. It starts to warm to summer temperatures in April in Arizona, but I had done most of my training for this race in the cooler temps coming off of winter and into spring. I doubled up on more electrolytes and had to walk for a short stretch to Two Cow Aid Station, the last aid of the course. Time to hit the final stretch.

I shuffled through the last few miles. Physically, I put one foot in front of the other. Mentally, I was allowing the events of the day to sink in, and I was accepting of it (for a change!). I knew that I had pushed a little in the beginning of the race (I know better than to start out fast), I had been sick just a week prior to the race, my electrolytes were out of whack, and I was physically and mentally exhausted from my current transition to life as a new nurse. All of these factors played into my performance. You make do with what you have to give on that particular day. I walked the last hill (where I was passed again; I made the conscious decision to let her go), and then I picked up my wimpy bootstraps and ran hard through the finish chute! The course ended up being 24.8 miles total. I finished 6th female overall, and I'll happily take it.

Part of what I love about running, training, and racing is that there is always a lesson, and there are always reflections and improvements that can be made. I push in life. It's what I do. Every now and then though, you have to rest too. It's time for me to focus on quality rest and staying healthy, to find my rhythm as a new nurse, and soon enough I'll get back to pushing toward the next goal. The process is humbling. I love every second of it.

Thank you to Aravaipa Running for always putting on a well organized and equipped race!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page